The Hunger Games, Found Poetry

I am not a writer nor am I a poet. But I do like to play around with words once in a while and generally I don’t hate the result. I once wrote an extended metaphor poem in about 10 minute as an example for an English 9 class I was subbing for and the kids absolutely loved it; I laughed because I just threw it together. My English 9 class is studying The Hunger Games right now and our next unit is poetry; to bridge the gap I’m assigning a found poem tomorrow and threw together this example tonight. I like it, so here it is.

Through Her Eyes

Screaming hysterically,
Her skinny arms like a vice.
“Tuck your tail in, little duck,”
I protect Prim in every way.
People deal with me,
They are genuinely fond of Prim.

In some dark world of sadness,
With her dead eyes and stillness.
Prim forgave our mother.
A gnarled place in me hated her.
I yelled at her.
I told her I loved her.

The boy with the bread:
I am having nothing to do with him.
He is so steady. Solid as a rock.
“I’ve had a crush on her ever since I can remember.”
This is the first kiss…
That makes me want another.

Leave a Reply

